Pippa Hughes


My name is Pippa Hughes and I trained as a Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) Acupuncturist, graduating from the College of Naturopathic Medicine in London. I also spent time working at the University Hospital in Nanjing, China which was a truly memorable experience.

TCM acupuncture is a holistic therapy that focuses on the body, treating the root cause of the problem, not just the symptoms. Very fine needles are placed into certain points on the body to bring it back into balance.

I use a variety of techniques such as cupping, moxa and electro-Acupuncture which I learnt so much about while in China.

TCM Acupuncture is particularly good at helping with common problems such as:

  • headaches
  • menstrual problems
  • digestive disorders
  • infertility
  • musculo-skeletal aches and pains

I look forward to meeting you and helping address your concern.


2 Minutes With Pippa

Why did you become an Acupuncturist?

I needed to make a career change from the events world after I had my daughter and had received a first-hand successful experience of Acupuncture. I have always had an interest in complementary and alternative therapies so it seemed like an obvious choice for me.

What makes your job worthwhile?

When you know you have helped someone particularly when they have not received acupuncture before.

What is unique about what you do?

I have been trained in traditional Chinese Acupuncture and use techniques such as moxa, cupping and electro-acupuncture too.

Who has influenced you most in your career as an Acupuncturist?

My friend who is an acupuncturist treated me whilst I was going through my 5th attempt of IVF which I believe resulted in the successful arrival of our daughter. My Dad who was a GP has been a great inspiration.

What’s the piece of advice do you give to your patients/clients most often?

Drink plenty of water, eat sensibly and always maintain light exercise.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not at work?

I enjoy needlework (not Acupuncture), cooking, walking, skiing and mostly spending time with my family and friends.